Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Did you know? (

Did you know? (

10 apr 2006 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

PSV clinched the Dutch title for the nineteenth time in their rich history. Ajax are the only Dutch club that have won more championships. They claimed the title 29 times. Feyenoord come third; they have won 14 titles. Since the introduction of the Eredivisie in the 1956/1957 season, PSV have claimed as many as sixteen titles. Guus Hiddink is the absolute king of all Dutch coaches. During two spells with PSV, he lifted six championship shields. Rinus Michels won the title with Ajax four times and Kees Rijvers (PSV), Louis van Gaal (Ajax) and Leo Beenhakker (Ajax and Feyenoord) celebrated three championships. Hiddink guided PSV to a stunning 260 victories from 1986-2006. When he was in charge, PSV drew 44 games and they slipped to defeat on only 26 occasions. PSV almost set a new record this season by winning 19 successive home games. They first enjoyed victory a 4-0 win over NAC Breda on 25 January 2005 and their wining streak was put to end just before the mid-winter break by FC Twente (1-1). The Eindhoven outfit had one even more successful run: they earned 21 straight Eredivisie wins from 18 October 1986 until 16 January 1988.Phillip Cocu was given most playing time this season; he was on the pitch for 2788 minutes. Timmy Simons and Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink come second and third with 2698 minutes and 2024 minutes, respectively. Jefferson Farfán has taken his season’s tally to nineteen goals this season, bys coring the crucial equalizer against FC Groningen.