Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Three PSV players named in Dutch squad (

Three PSV players named in Dutch squad (

14 May 2006 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

Marco van Basten, coach of the Dutch national team, has named a 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup finals at a press conference on Sunday morning. Cocu, Ooijer and Vennegoor, the three players that were called up in the provisional squad, have all been included in the final squad. Final squadVan Basten and his assistant Van ‘t Schip have called up three goalkeepers, Edwin van der Sar, Maarten Stekelenburg and Henk Timmer, eight defenders, six midfielders and six strikers. Khalid Boulahrouz, Giovanni van Bronckhorst, Tim de Cler, Johnny Heitinga, Kew Jaliens, Jan Kromkamp, Joris Mathijsen and André Ooijer are the six defenders that make up the rear guard. Mark van Bommel, Phillip Cocu, Denny Landzaat, Hedwiges Maduro, Wesley Sneijder and Rafael van der Vaart will be played in midfield. The coaches have named six strikers: Ryan Babel, Dirk Kuyt, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Robin van Persie, Arjen Robben and Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink. Players droppedEleven players have been dropped from the provisional 34-man squad. Patrick Lodewijks, Wilfred Bouma, Urby Emanuelson, Barry Opdam, Ron Vlaar, George Boateng, Edgar Davids, Nigel de Jong, Romeo Castelen, Klaas Jan Huntelaar and Martijn Meerdink did not get in invitation for the squad that take part in the World Cup 2006 in Germany from 9 June until 9 July. Johnny Heitinga has meanwhile been added to the definitive squad. Emanuelson, Vlaar, Castelen and Huntelaar will now join their Young Holland team mates.