Supportersvereniging PSV
Home > News > No PSV players called up to the Dutch squad (

Not a member yet?
Sign up now!

No PSV players called up to the Dutch squad (

25 Aug 2006 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

Marco van Basten has not called up any PSV players to Holland’s national team squad for two Euro 2008 qualifying games. Now that both André Ooijer and Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink left the club this week, no PSV players have been included in the final squad.November 2001Phillip Cocu retired from international football after the World Cup 2006 in Germany. Ibrahim Afellay, Ismail Aissati and Roy Beerens are frequently called up for the Young Holland or Dutch Olympic team squads. It is not the first time no PSV players have been named for the Dutch squad. Louis van Gaal, the then coach of the Dutch team, did not name any PSV players for the friendly against Denmark in November 2001. Mark van Bommel and Kevin Hofland were injured and Arnold Bruggink, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink and Wilfred Bouma were dropped from the final squad. Ooijer and Vennegoor of Hesselink have been called up by Marco van Basten for the two qualifying games.Dutch squadGoalkeepers: Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United), Henk Timmer (Feyenoord).Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Chelsea), Joris Mathijsen (HSV), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Barcelona), Tim de Cler (AZ), Urby Emanuelson (Ajax), John Heitinga (Ajax), Kew Jaliens (AZ), Andre Ooijer (Blackburn Rovers).Midfielders: Theo Janssen (Vitesse), Nigel de Jong (HSV), Denny Landzaat (Wigan Athletic), Stijn Schaars (AZ), Wesley Sneijder (Ajax), Rafael van der Vaart (HSV).Strikers: Ryan Babel (Ajax), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Ajax), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Martijn Meerdink (AZ), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (Celtic).