Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Ibrahim Afellay receives first Netherlands call-up (

Ibrahim Afellay receives first Netherlands call-up (

16 mrt 2007 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

<L CODE="C01">Ibrahim Afellay</L> has received his first Netherlands call-up after coach Marco van Basten announced a 23-man squad for the Euro 2008 qualifying games against Romania and Slovenia. The young midfielder is the only PSV player in the Netherlands squad. The Dutch team will play host to Romania in the Rotterdam Kuip on 24 March, while the qualifying game against Slovenia is scheduled for 28 March.
Van Basten has named a 23-man squad, including an extra goalkeeper as back up for first-choice regular Edwin van der Sar, who has sustained a calf injury, but PSV defender <L CODE="C02">Jan Kromkamp</L>, who was called up to Van Basten’s provisional squad, was withdrawn from the final squad. Former PSV player Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink has not received a call-up, either. The Celtic striker will be on the sidelines for some weeks with an ankle injury that he sustained during last week’s clash with Glasgow Rangers. The former PSV players Wilfred Bouma (Aston Villa) and Arjen Robben (Chelsea) will report for duty with the Dutch team next Tuesday. Just like Afellay, AZ striker Danny Koevermans has been called up to the Netherlands squad for the first time. <u>Netherlands squad:</u> Goalkeepers: Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax) and Henk Timmer (Feyenoord). Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Chelsea), Wilfred Bouma (Aston Villa), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Barcelona), Tim de Cler (AZ), Urby Emanuelson (Ajax), John Heitinga (Ajax), Kew Jaliens (AZ) and Joris Mathijsen. Midfielders: <b>Ibrahim Afellay (PSV)</b>, Nigel de Jong (HSV), Denny Landzaat (Wigan Athletic), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Ajax), Rafael van der Vaart (HSV) and Demy de Zeeuw (AZ). Forwards: Ryan Babel (Ajax), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Ajax), Danny Koevermans (AZ), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool) and Arjen Robben (Chelsea).