Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Ibrahim Afellay gets a call-up to the Holland squad (

Ibrahim Afellay gets a call-up to the Holland squad (

31 aug 2007 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

Netherlands coach Marco van Basten has included PSV midfielder Ibrahim Afellay in his expanded 25-man squad for the UEFA Euro 2008 qualifying games against Bulgaria and Albania. Van Basten also selected four former PSV players: Van Nistelrooy, Ooijer, Bouma and Vennegoor of Hesselink.

The Netherlands first take on Bulgaria in the Amsterdam ArenA on Saturday 8 September before they visit Albania four days later. The coach of the Dutch team also announced at a press conference Zeist that he has added Ajax striker Klaas Jan Huntelaar and the Wigan Athletic midfielder Denny Landzaat to his squad. 21-year Afellay is the only PSV player that has received a call-up.
Netherlands Under-21 coach Foppe de Haan has included PSV midfielder Ismail Aissati in his squad for the UEFA European Under-21 Championship qualifiers away against Norway on 7 September. Former PSV forward Roy Beerens has also been named in De Haan's squad.
Netherlands squad:
Goalkeepers: Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Henk Timmer (Feyenoord)
Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Sevilla FC), Wilfred Bouma (Aston Villa), Urby Emanuelson (Ajax), John Heitinga (Ajax), Kew Jaliens (AZ), Mario Melchiot (Wigan Athletic) and André Ooijer (Blackburn Rovers).
Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (PSV), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), Nigel de Jong (Hamburger SV), Denny Landzaat (Wigan Athletic), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Real Madrid), Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburger SV) and Demy de Zeeuw (AZ).
Forwards: Ryan Babel (Liverpool), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Ajax), Dirk Kuijt (Liverpool), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Real Madrid), Robin van Persie (Arsenal) and Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (Celtic).