Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Three PSV players named in the Eredivisie Team of the Year (

Three PSV players named in the Eredivisie Team of the Year (

10 jan 2008 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

The past week, readers of the Dutch football magazine Voetbal International were invited to vote their Team of the Year 2007. Reigning Eredivisie champions PSV had six players nominated and today it was announced that three of them, goalkeeper Heurelho da Silva Gomes, captain Timmy Simons and vice-captain Carlos Salcido, have won a place in the Team of the Year. Last season seven PSV players were named in the Eredivisie Team of the Year.
VI editors had nominated three players for each position. PSV keeper Gomes was named best goalkeeper with a record 86, 751 votes, beating off competition from Maarten Stekelenburg (36, 081 votes) and Henk Timmer (14, 039 votes).
Carlos Salcido got the majority of votes for the position of centre back. The Mexican was voted in 71, 894 teams, while Edson Braafheid and Arnold Kruiswijk received 34, 711 and 30, 266 votes respectively. Just like last season, Timmy Simons was named in the Eredivisie Team of the Year. 73, 665 readers had included PSV's captain in their Team of the Year. Holding midfielder Marcel Meeuwis got 35. 408 votes and Rasmus Lindgren got 277, 98 votes. Ismail Aissati, Kenneth Perez and Danny Koevermans, who all spent six months with PSV in the year 2007, were nominated, but did not get enough votes to be named in the Team of the Year. Fred Rutten was named Coach of the Year.


  • Gomes
  • Lucius
  • Ooijer
  • Alex
  • Lee
  • Park (Vonlanthen ‘73)
  • Van Bommel
  • Cocu
  • Vogel
  • Vennegoor
  • Farfan (Beasley ‘53)
Willem II
  • Moens
  • Mathijssen
  • Kreek (Van Mosselveld ‘88)
  • Van Nieuwstadt
  • Van de Haar
  • Victoria
  • Caluwé (Hadouir ‘77)
  • Agustien (Van der Struijk ‘83)
  • Reuser
  • Quinn
  • Bobson


  • Debleeckere (Bel)


  • 31.000

Yellow card(s)

  • Van Bommel (PSV), Quinn, Kreek (Willem II)


  • 1-0 Vennegoor '16