Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Afellay named in Holland squad (

Afellay named in Holland squad (

21 Mar 2008 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

Holland coach Marco van Basten has named Ibrahim Afellay in his 21-man squad for the friendly against Austria at the Ernst Happel Stadium in Vienna on Wednesday 19 March. Afellay is the only player to represent PSV in the final squad, but several former PSV players have received a call up.

Holland will meet Austria, co-hosts of the Euro 2008, as they prepare for the tournament. Piet Veldhuizen has been called up for the first time in place of the injured Edwin van der Sar. Ruud van Nistelrooy is ruled out with an ankle injury, but former PSV stars Wilfred Bouma, Klaas Jan Huntelaar, André Ooijer and Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink are all named in the 21-man final squad.

Ismail Aissati and Dirk Marcellis have been included in the Holland Under-21 squad for the Euro 2008 qualifying game against Estonia in Emmen on Wednesday 26 March, with an 18:00 kick off.

Holland Squad:
Goalkeepers: Henk Timmer (Feyenoord), Piet Velthuizen (Vitesse).
Defenders: Wilfred Bouma (Aston Villa), Tim de Cler (Feyenoord), Urby Emanuelson (Ajax), John Heitinga (Ajax), Joris Mathijsen (HSV), Mario Melchiot (Wigan Athletic), André Ooijer (Blackburn Rovers).
Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (PSV), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), Nigel de Jong (HSV), Denny Landzaat (Feyenoord), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Real Madrid), Rafael van der Vaart (HSV), Demy de Zeeuw (AZ).
Strikers: Ryan Babel (Liverpool), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Ajax), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (Celtic).