Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > VVV Venlo win Herman Teeuwen Memorial trophy after penalty shootout (

VVV Venlo win Herman Teeuwen Memorial trophy after penalty shootout (

31 Jul 2008 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

Last season, PSV were held to a 1-1- draw by VVV-Venlo in the Herman Teeuwen Memorial contest and this season's version was not any different, after the hosts had restored parity in the dying seconds. A penalty shootout again determined the result of the drawn game. PSV beat VVV-Venlo on penalties last season, but the home side made amends on Wednesday night.
Ibrahim Afellay
PSV last met VVV-Venlo at the Seacon Stadium De Koel on 20 January 2008, when they were also held to a 1-1 draw. Although the newly promoted team pulled off some shock results, they were relegated to the Jupiler League at the end of last season and their star player Nordin Amrabat joined PSV during the summer. VVV-Venlo will kick off their campaign in ten days, while PSV returned to pre-season training only two weeks ago. The crowd was not treated to an entertaining game, due to hot, sultry weather, while PSV, who felt the after effects of the tough training sessions, missed several first team regulars. The PSV fans had reason to celebrate, though, when Ibrahim Afellay opened the scoring after just three minutes. The midfielder had started the move himself, linking well with Danko Lazovic: 0-1.
Edison Méndez
Edison Méndez returned to the PSV starting line-up after he had recovered from an upper leg injury. Head coach Huub Stevens had only a depleted squad at his disposal in Venlo. As many as ten players, many of them potential first-team regulars, were ruled out of contention. Jérémie Bréchet, Danny Koevermans, Jan Kromkamp, Bas Roorda, Stijn Wuytens and Jonathan were all absent, due to injuries, while Otman Bakkal, Dirk Marcellis and Erik Pieters take part in a pre-Olympic tournament in Hong Kong. Reimond Manco, who will turn eighteen in August, is not eligible to play yet. PSV did not succeed in creating any meaningful chance in the first period after Ibrahim Afellay has scored an early opening goal. Rick Verbeek came close to scoring an equaliser after fifteen minutes, but Eric Addo did well to clear the ball off the line. Neither team put in a commanding first half display, due to the sultry weather.
Penalty shootout
Huub Stevens made several changes at half time. Rens van Eijden came on for Maza, Mike Zonneveld replaced Méndez and Nordin Amrabat took over from Balázs Dzsudzsák. PSV started the second half much livelier, in particular when goalkeeper Isaksson fumbled a cross from the right and El Gaaouiri had the goal at his mercy. Van Eijden, however, made a great sliding tackle, clearing the ball off the line. The young defender had to be substituted after he had picked up a knock. Van der Leegte left the bench to take his place, while Väyrynen had already been brought on for Culina. PSV had some chances to wrap up the game, but Lazovic sent his effort over the crossbar and Afellay shot straight at the goalkeeper. Just when PSV thought they had collected a win, substitute Sandro Calabro scored an equaliser, seconds before the final whistle went. And just like last season, a penalty shootout determined the result of the drawn game. Afellay sent his penalty over the bar and Salcido hit the post, while Lazovic and Simons converted their spot kicks. Four VVV-Venlo players were on target, so the hosts eventually lifted the Herman Teeuwen Trophy. PSV will now start preparations for Saturday's pre-season friendly against Sporting Clube in Lisbon.
Match details:
Venue: Seacon Stadium De Koel, Venlo.

Goals: (3) Afellay 0-1; (91) Calabro 1-1.
Penalty shootout: Calabro 1-0; Afellay misses (fired over the bar); Van Kouwen 2-0; Lazovic 2-1; Kantelberg 3-1; Simons 3-2; Leemans 4-2; Salcido misses (hit the post).
Bookings: Leemans, Auassar (VVV), Zonneveld, Van der Leegte, Afellay (PSV).

PSV line-up:
Isaksson, Alcides, Addo, RodrĂ­guez (46, Van Eijden (75, Van der Leegte)), Salcido, Simons, Méndez (46, Zonneveld), Culina (61, Väyrynen), Afellay, Dzsudzsák (46, Amrabat) and Lazovic.
Substitutes: Cássio Ramos, Zonneveld, Amrabat, Van der Leegte, Väyrynen and Van Eijden.