Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > PSV beat Real Mallorca in a penalty shoot-out (

PSV beat Real Mallorca in a penalty shoot-out (

15 Aug 2008 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

It was exactly 0.45am when PSV beat Real Mallorca in a penalty shoot-out to win the Trofeo Ciudad de Palma. Balázs scored the winning penalty. The hosts took a 1-0 lead through Varela, but Stijn Wuytens hit back for PSV with an equaliser nine minutes from time. So penalties were taken to get a result.
Varela opening goal
The match was not kicked off until 10.41 pm, as the official presentation of the Real Mallorca team, ahead of the new season in Spain, was scheduled at 9.15pm. Only 25 seconds were on the clock when Pierre Webo squandered a golden opportunity to open the scoring, as he was left completely unmarked but only hit the bar. PSV responded five minutes later when a free kick by Afellay forced keeper Moya into a save. The deadlock was broken after sixteen minutes, when a free kick from Varela took a deflection off Salcido, leaving Isaksson a helpless onlooker: 1-0. Real Mallorca were looking to double their lead and PSV knew they were in a fight and had to pull out all the stops. Huub Stevens' team hardly threatened Moya, although Afellay and Amrabat created space for themselves at time. Real Mallorca came close to scoring a couple of times, but as the whistle sounded for half time, the score was 1-0.
Wuytens equaliser
Huub Stevens withdrew Méndez and Amrabat for Wuytens and Dzsudzsák at half time. The second half was a fairly low key affair and Addo and Lazovic came on to replace Maza and Culina, respectively. PSV had their first genuine chance ten minutes from time when Dzsudzsák won a corner. The Hungarian took the corner kick himself and the rebound fell nicely into the path of Wuytens, who hit the ball into the roof of the net, after it had taken a deflection of Mario Suárez. Manco was brought on to replace Koevermans. The night was still young when Lazovic powered a header home through the legs of goalkeeper Lux, but his goal was ruled out for offside. So eventually penalties were taken to decide who would lift the win Trofeo Ciudad de Palma.
Penalty shoot-out: 5-3
It was already half past twelve when the first penalty was taken. Lazovic, Afellay, Salcido, Addo and Dzsudzsák were all on target, whereas Jurado, who took the first penalty for the home side, saw his spot kick saved by Isaksson. Dzsudzsák eventually scored the winning penalty and Salcido and Afellay held the huge cup aloft as PSV won 5-3 win on penalties.
Match details:
Venue: Oni Estadi, Palma de Mallorca.

Goals: (16) Varela 1-0; (81, own goal) Suarez 1-1.
Penalty shoot-out: Lazovic 0-1; Jurado (Isaksson saves); Afellay 0-2; Ramis 1-2; Salcido 1-3; Trejo 2-3; Addo 2-4; Callejon 3-4; Dzsudzsák 3-5.

Booked: Geel: Amrabat, Rodriguez, Van der Leegte (PSV), Ramis (Mallorca).

Isaksson, Salcido, Rodriguez (70, Addo), Brechet, Zonneveld, Culina (70, Lazovic), Simons (76, Van der Leegte), Mendez (46, Wuytens), Afellay, Amrabat (46, Dzsudzsák) and Koevermans.
Substitutes: Cássio Ramos, Lazovic, Manco, Addo, Dzsudzsák, Van der Leegte, Wuytens, Väyrynen and Van Eijden.

RCD Mallorca:
Moya (64, Lux), Josemi, Ramis, Varela (65, Suarez), Webo (78, Keita), Jurado, Castro (46, Callejon), Nunes, Arango, Corrales (78, Ayoze) and Marti (65, Trejo)