Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Team news: Culina, Amrabat and Méndez return to the starting line-up (

Team news: Culina, Amrabat and Méndez return to the starting line-up (

16 Sep 2008 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

PSV head coach Huub Stevens has made three changes to the team that beat Sparta Rotterdam 1-0 on Saturday. Summer signing Nordin Amrabat replaces Stefan Nijland in attack, while Edison Méndez and Jason Culina are also back in contention after being rested at the weekend.
Twelfth consecutive campaign
Edison Méndez, who only returned from international duty with Ecuador earlier on Saturday, was not called up by Stevens for the Sparta game. Amrabat had been handed a two-match ban for an alleged foul during the Johan Cruijff Shield contest. Jason Culina, who had to withdraw from Australia's midweek international with flu, started on the bench but came on as a substitute in PSV's 1-0 win. They will all return to the starting XI, when PSV Eindhoven start their 12th successive UEFA Champions League campaign against Atlético Madrid.
Starting line-up
Timmy Simons and Jason Culina will join a midfield that also includes Ibrahim Afellay and Edison Méndez. The defence is also familiar, with Dirk Marcellis and Jérémie Bréchet forming a central defensive partnership and the full-back spots taken by Carlos Salcido and Erik Pieters. Koevermans will lead the attack along with Nordin Amrabat, with Andreas Isaksson taking his place in goal. Balázs Dzsudzsák and Stijn Wuytens are dropped to the bench, while Eric Addo and Stef Nijland will watch the game from the stands. The Italian referee Roberto Rosetti will be in charge of tonight's game that kicks off at 20:45.
PSV starting line-up:
Isaksson, Salcido, Marcellis, Bréchet, Pieters, Simons, Méndez, Afellay, Culina, Amrabat and Koevermans.
Substitutes: Cássio Ramos, Maza Rodriguez, Zonneveld, Lazovic, Dzsudzsák, Bakkal and Wuytens.

Atlético Madrid starting line-up:
Leo Franco, Antonio LĂłpez, Heitinga, Forlán, AgĂźero, Paulo Assunção, Uljalusi, Maniche, Simäo and Perea.
Substitutes: Coupet, Seitaridis, RaĂşl GarcĂ­a, Sinama Pngolle, Banega, Miguel and Camacho.