Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > All Dutch clubs booked a place in the UEFA Cup group stage (

All Dutch clubs booked a place in the UEFA Cup group stage (

3 okt 2008 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

All Dutch clubs booked a place in the UEFA Cup group stage, as jax, Feyenoord, sc Heerenveen, N.E.C. and FC Twente ran out aggregate winners in their first-round matches on Thursday night. The group stage draw will take place in Nyon on Tuesday at noon. The first group stage match day is scheduled for Thursday 23 October.
Feyenoord and N.E.C.
Feyenoord and N.E.C. faced the most daunting task. The club from Rotterdam, who celebrate their 100th anniversary this year and played in golden shirts to mark the occasion, had slipped to a 1-0 defeat in the first leg at home against Kalmar FF from Sweden. Wijnaldum capitalised at the Borås Arena on an error from the Swedish goalkeeper to put Feyenoord ahead after fifteen minutes. Lasse Johansson restored parity straight after the break, but Nouri handed the visitors victory with an unfortunate own goal. Feyenoord progress to the group stage on away goals. N.E.C. recorded a 1-0 win in their first leg at home against Dinamo Bucharest and survived a few anxious moments. Mario Been's team fought bravely and held on for a goalless draw which was enough to send them through to the next phase.
Ajax, sc Heerenveen and FC Twente
At the Amsterdam ArenA, Ajax defended a 4-1 lead from their away game. The Amsterdam outfit were in cruise control as they eased to a 2-0 win, courtesy of goals from Sarpong and Suárez. Sc Heerenveen ran riot in their own stadium, thrashing Vitória Setúbal from Portugal 5-2. The Frisians were 3-0 up after thirty minutes. Elyounoussi added a fourth goal before the Portuguese pulled two goals back. The hosts had the final word, though, when Elyounoussi, again, put the result beyond doubt in the 68th minute. FC Twente enjoyed a second-leg 1-0 victory over Stade Rennes, cancelling out their 2-1 defeat in the first leg. N'Kufo scored the only goal as FC Twente qualified on the away goals rule.