Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Jonathan's double earns Young PSV a 2-1 win over Ajax (

Jonathan's double earns Young PSV a 2-1 win over Ajax (

11 nov 2008 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

Two second half goals from the Brazilian striker Jonathan secured Young PSV a hard fought 2-1 win over Young Ajax at De Toekomst complex in Amsterdam on Monday night. Jonathan bagged his second brace in a row, as PSV climbed to fourth place, level on points with Ajax.
Starting places Zonneveld and Maza
Young PSV handed starting places to first-team squad members Mike Zonneveld and Maza, while Young Ajax included Eyong Enoh in their line-up. The hosts were the better team in the opening stages. Javier Martina had a chance to open the scoring on the half hour mark, but keeper Cássio Ramos denied him with an excellent save. Coach Anton Janssen's took an early lead after the restart. Jonathan Reis struck a free kick two minutes into the second half and experienced keeper Hans Vonk should have done better there; 1-0. PSV looked to have wrapped up the points twenty minutes from time. While the Ajax defenders in vain waited for an offside signal, Jonathan cleverly doubled the margin; 0-2. Ajax substitute Marvin Zeegelaar reduced the deficit after 81 minutes, but the PSV defence held firm to secure a hard-fought win. Young PSV moved level on points with Ajax. The two teams lie fourth, with seventeen points after ten games. PSV will be next in action on Monday 24 November when they host Feyenoord at De Herdgang training complex, with a 6.30pm kick-off.
Young PSV line-up:
Ramos, Maza (61, Marzo), Heerkens, Horsten, Manco, Ojo, Jonathan (84, Hutten), Rymenants, Thomassen, Waalkens, Zonneveld.
Substitutions: Toonen, Nilis, Romario, Marzo and Hutten.


FC Twente
  • Boschker
  • Rahim
  • Majstorovic
  • Zomer
  • Heubach
  • Sibum (Brama/46)
  • Bakircioglü
  • Niemeyer
  • Touma (Afonso/76)
  • N'Kufo
  • Sjoekov (Kleizen/76)
  • Gomes
  • Ooijer
  • Addo
  • Alex
  • Lamey
  • Afellay (Aissati/80)
  • Cocu
  • Simons
  • Farfán (Robert/68)
  • Koné
  • Beasley (Vennegoor/56)


  • Bossen


  • 13.100

Yellow card(s)

  • Rahim (FC Twente), Ooijer (PSV)


  • 1-0 Afellay (70)