Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > Cup preview: AZ - PSV (

Cup preview: AZ - PSV (

12 nov 2008 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

PSV will take on AZ in a KNVB Cup Third Round tie at the DSB Stadium in Alkmaar tonight. AZ enjoyed a 1-0 home league win over PSV in September. The two teams last faced each other in a Cup tie in 2006, when PSV recorded a 2-0 victory over AZ.
Semi-finals in 2006
PSV also faced AZ at the Philips Stadium three seasons ago in the KNVB Cup semi-finals, when extra time was needed. Timmy Simons broke the deadlock in the 103rd minute and Jefferson Farfán made it 2-0 in the dying minute. PSV were beaten 2-1 in the final by Ajax in the 2005/06 season. It was the last time that eight-time Cup winners PSV reached the final. Three-time Cup winners AZ were also beaten by Ajax in the 2006/06 season. Eric Addo, Nordin Amrabat and Jérémie Bréchet, who are all recovering from injuries, are ruled out of tonight's Cup clash in Alkmaar. AZ will miss Graziano Pellè, Gijs Luirink, Kew Jaliens and Moussa Dembélé through injury.
League encounter
AZ played host to PSV at the DSB Stadium in Alkmaar two months ago. As the Eredivisie game was heading for a goalless draw, AZ booked their first win of the season on Matchday 3 thanks to a goal from Maarten Martens nine minutes from time., while PSV suffered their first defeat of the 2008/09 campaign. Meanwhile AZ have moved to the top of the Eredivisie and PSV are lying fifth, four points behind the leaders. PSV cruised into the third round of the Dutch Cup with a 3-0 win against Young PSV on 23 September with Wuytens scoring in the first half and Danko Lazovic adding two more in the second. Louis van Gaal's team knocked out Heracles Almelo in the previous round, following an emphatic 3-0 home win. AZ v PSV kicks off tonight at 8.45pm.


  • Gomes
  • Ooijer
  • Alex
  • Lamey
  • Afellay (Reiziger/58)
  • Simons
  • Aissati
  • Cocu
  • Beasley
  • Vennegoor
  • Farfán (Addo/85)
AC Milan
  • Dida
  • Maldini
  • Stam
  • Nesta
  • Kaladze (Jankulovski/46)
  • Seedorf
  • Pirlo
  • Gattuso (Serginho/46)
  • Kaká
  • Vieri
  • Gilardino (Sjevtsjenko/74)


  • Poll (Eng)


  • 35.100

Yellow card(s)

  • Gattuso (AC Milan)

Red card(s)

  • Stam (84/2xgeel) (AC Milan)


  • 1-0 Farfán (12)