Supportersvereniging PSV
A real fan joins!
Home > News > PSV claim Holland Casino Eredivisie title (

PSV claim Holland Casino Eredivisie title (

24 Apr 2005 - Source:

This newsitem has been supplied by

PSV claimed the Eredivisie title for the eighteenth time in their rich history. Head coach Guus Hiddink and his players secured the title by a solid and comfortable 3-0 win over Vitesse on Saturday night in the Eindhoven Philips Stadium, with four rounds still to play.Eight clean sheets in a rowAlex, Wilfred Bouma, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (slight injuries), Young-Pyo Lee, Jefferson Farfán (rested) and Phillip Cocu (suspended) were all in the grand stand when the game was kicked off at 20:00. Eric Addo and André Ooijer were partnered in the heart of defence, Theo Lucius was deployed as full right back and Kasper Bøgelund was played a full left back. The alternative defence put up a fine performance: goalkeeper Gomes kept his eighth clean sheet in a row in a domestic league game. In spite of the many changes to the starting XI, PSV again grabbed all three points. Ji-Sung Park The hosts suffered an early setback, when Robert limped off the pitch on fifteen minutes. Ibrahim Afellay left the bench to replace him and he was very impressive as a substitute. PSV did not change their match plan and continued to play attacking football, because DaMarcus Beasley was now played as a winger. For a few minutes Vitesse might have thought they could get a result in Eindhoven, but although quite a few PSV first team regulars were absent, it was business as usual, when PSV broke the deadlock. Ji-Sung Park found some space and his left-footed 25-yard screamer beat Vitesse keeper Wapenaar for the opener on 23 minutes; 1-0. The goal gave the hosts even more self- confidence and on the stroke of half time Park delivered the perfect cross for PSV captain Mark van Bommel to superbly head home a diving header; 2-0.Party time33, 600 spectators were in no doubt any more and started the celebrations. It was party time in the Eindhoven Philips Stadium and in some sections of the stands the crowd spontaneously did congas. Hiddink had taken off Johann Vogel during the break and former Vitesse midfielder Remco van der Schaaf came on to replace him. As some Vitesse players did not want to take any risks as a yellow card would have meant a one-match ban and as PSV were satisfied with the way things were going, the second period was played in an efficient, business-like way. The home fans did not cease singing and chanting and everybody joined in the Mexican wave, knowing that the championship shield would be lifted tonight. Gerald Sibon put the ice on the caking with three minutes’ official time left. The striker played a one-two with Jefferson Farfán (who had been brought on for Ooijer) and wrapped up things completely with the third goal of the night. When the final whistle of referee Luinge went, history was made: PSV had won the Dutch title for the eighteenth time. It is their fourth title in six years!